Energy Hub Staff, Steering Committee, & Local Members


Mary Ewell, Coordinator

Mary comes to MEH from a career teaching Physics & Astronomy at George Mason University before moving to New Hampshire in 2016. She joined the Monadnock Sustainability Network’s steering community working on community supported solar soon after relocating and has been working with MSN ever since! With MEH she has reinvigorated her passion for renewable energy and is digging into issues and learning as much as she can to be effective in moving our community forward toward the reduction of greenhouse gases and sustainable living. She is happy to be working toward a better future for her neighbors and larger Monadnock community and cannot wait to meet anyone seeking a greener future and looking ways to save money while making sensible energy decisions.

Jennifer Zakrzewski, Intern

Jennifer was born and raised in the Monadnock Region, but she first became interested in sustainability through a year volunteering with AmeriCorps Cape Cod. She then spent a few years exploring her options by teaching environmental education, supervising for AmeriCorps, waiting tables, and traveling. She has now returned to the area, and is pursuing an MS in Resilient and Sustainable Communities. She is excited to be learning more about clean energy and helping increase the resilience of her home community! 

Steering Committee

John Kondos

John is a founder of the Monadnock Sustainability Network, Home-Efficiency Resources and Solar Source (now part of the Melanson Co.). He started his career in the renewable energy industry in the late 1970’s at the contractor level and went on to work at a crystalline and a later at a thin film PV manufacturer. He returned to solar in 2007 after a number of years in other industries and has installed PV systems on three continents and solar water heaters in MA, NH and VT.  John has a Masters in International Management from the Thunderbird School of Global Management and a BA from Fairfield University. He is committed to working on solutions to our greatest challenge- climate change caused by fossil fuel combustion- through energy conservation, renewable energy and land stewardship.

Ann Shedd

Ann Shedd is a retired physician who moved to Keene in 2007; her family roots in Keene go back three generations, and she has a life-time love for the region. She has served on the Keene Conservation Commission for 5 years and is in her fourth year on the Keene Energy and Climate Committee. She is proud of the progress that the City of Keene has made in reducing its Greenhouse Gas Emissions but is eager to see much more progress at the community scale, and is pleased to be part of the collaborative regional efforts of the Monadnock Energy Hub.

Dori Drachman

Dori spent most of her career as an educator. She founded a school that organizes its curriculum around environmental education and was a classroom teacher for more than a decade. After earning her masters degree in environmental education from Antioch University New England, she worked as a teacher/naturalist for the Harris Center for Conservation Education. After years of taking kids into the woods with the goal of inspiring them to care for our planet, Dori decided that we actually couldn’t wait that long. So she helped re-start the Peterborough Energy Committee (PEC) and became its Chair. The PEC is a founding member of the Monadnock Energy Hub.  

Pat Martin

Pat Martin is Chair of the Rindge Energy Commission, a retired electrical engineer, and a member of the Clean Energy Team of the Monadnock Progressive Alliance.   She enjoys studying and advocating for clean energy policy.

Peter Wotowiec

Peter is a carpenter, farmer, community volunteer and member of the Monadnock Progressive Alliance “Clean Energy Team”. He has an MS in Agricultural Education.